​​Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc
Epsilon Eta Sigma Chapter

National History

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was organized on November 12, 1922 in Indianapolis, Indiana by seven young educators: Mary Lou Little, Dorothy Whiteside, Vivian Marbury, Nannie Johnson, Hattie Mae Redford, Bessie M. Martin and Cubena McClure. The group became an incorporated national collegiate sorority on December 30, 1929, when a charter was granted to Alpha chapter at Butler University.

Soaring to greater heights of attainment around the World, Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., as a leading national service organization, has met the challenges of the day and continues to grow through Sisterhood, Scholarship and Service.

Currently there are over 90,000 ladies of Sigma Gamma Rho in more than 400 chapters internationally. The sorority's national programs focus on educational, economic, health, and social issues that affect our communities across the nation and abroad.

Sigma Gamma Rho's commitment to service is expressed in its slogan, "Greater Service, Greater Progress."